Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Messages

Advanced

Convert gas engine to steam??

Posted by Crazy Wayne 
Convert gas engine to steam??
November 15, 2004 10:33AM
Friends,
This is my first time here, so please help with this (probably) stupid question.
Every gas engine is basically running off of compressed gas (generates its own pressure via explosion), so why couldn't you simply yank the spark plugs and replace them with high-pressure steam lines that are controlled by the distributor to emit a short burst of high-pressure steam at the peak of the compression cycle? The high-pressure switch would be similar to that in a paint ball gun, which releases a calculated amount of compressed gas via a trigger mechanism. At the right pressure, there should be the same volume of steam exhaust as there would be normal exhaust.
Would this work? What am I missing in this equation?? Surely someone has tried this and it didn't work---why not?
Thanks,
--------Wayne
Brian Drake
Re: Convert gas engine to steam??
November 15, 2004 02:32PM
This has come up before, and I'll leave the technical explanations to the experts, suffice it to say that it won't work. A four cycle gas engine is simply too different from a steam engine for this to be a practical conversion.
Mike K.
November 15, 2004 03:58PM
Asssuming you want to use an ordinary 4-cycle gas engine, you would certainly have to do something drastic to your camshaft to ensure that the intake and exhaust valves would open and close at the right times. You would have a certain amount of built-in ineffeciency because your steam would have to change directions to exit the cylinder (the piston would have to push the expanded steam out the exhaust port). Depending on the exact engine you decide to convert, you might have rust problems because of the cast iron block, pistons, and rings.
November 15, 2004 04:46PM