Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Messages

Advanced

Stanley Winker

Posted by Froggie 
Stanley Winker
July 10, 2021 03:20PM
This is my first time to speak on the Forum. Five years ago I purchased a 1910 Stanley Model 71 project car. This is not an original car but a "put together" car. The wooden body was all painted and pretty but absolutely nothing had been done on the mechanics or plumbing--and I mean nothing! It came with boxes of accumulated parts. I spent three years working on the mechanics and plumbing (I'm on my 5th roll of 5/16 copper tubing!) made more difficult by the fact that the nearest Stanley is hundreds of miles from where I live. I finally Steamed it up for the first time over two years ago. Through trail and error and many mistakes and setbacks I have become a fairly competent operator. I had to bring it home on my trailer several times due to breakdowns but now those breakdowns are getting much fewer and when they do occur, they are fairly minor. Haven't had to use my trailer in months! I have now put right at 1300 miles on the car.