Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Messages

Advanced

Inspectors?

Posted by Burt 
Inspectors?
April 15, 2019 12:35PM
I am a novice here, interested in purchasing a steam auto. The car I would purchase will become a 'driver' rather than a concours car. I know enough to know that I don't know nearly enough. So, my question is: who might I contact to perform on-site inspections of cars being considered for purchase?

Burt Hermey
Costa Mesa, CA
Re: Inspectors?
April 15, 2019 01:23PM
This sort of thing is going to vary from state to state. For example, here in Michigan, no inspection is actually required for steam powered road vehicles. So, first you need to find out if there is a requirement in your state. If there is, the state boiler inspector's office can usually have a certified inspector arrive to verify a hydro test. If there is no legal requirement, you could contact the local live steam community (traction engines or scale locomotives) and see if they have club members who do testing.
April 15, 2019 03:47PM
Thank you. I'd expect, living in California, that something will be required if/when I get a vehicle ready to roll. I was more interested to find out if there are people I could hire to go and inspect prospective vehicles and provide a second and hopefully unbiased opinion. In my previous life, recently completed, I owned, restored, and operated vintage railroad passenger cars. Prospective buyers could hire folks to go (with or without the purchaser present) to give a car a preliminary inspection. That person would then usually write a report detailing the car's assets and defects/omissions.
April 15, 2019 09:02PM
Burt, There are many steam car appraisers that would be willing to help you with you inspection for purchase reason. The thing to do is to find out where the prospective car is located and then find an inspector in that geographic location. I have inspected several located here in the Northwest.
April 16, 2019 11:39AM
Hi Burt,