Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Messages

Advanced

In a little over my head! Monotube boiler advice, please.

Posted by Aristophanese 
In a little over my head! Monotube boiler advice, please.
March 09, 2019 07:34PM
Hi there, folks! I'm new to this world of steam, and recognizing that you all are not, I was hoping for some advice.

I've been wanting to build a steam car, and have done some research regarding the project. I read that the boiler was the most difficult part, so I started there. The boiler I've made is a bit different in configuration that others I've seen, but identical in concept. I have gutted a turbocharger and converted it into a belt driven blower using a 12v dc motor (12" pulley on a 3,000rpm winch motor belt driving a 2" pulley for the turbo -- around 18,000 rpm just going off ratings). On the inlet of the blower I've installed a 2 barrel Motorcraft carburetor to handle fuel mixing. The outlet of the turbocharger blows into a 4.5' long 4" od 1/8 wall tube and the mixture is ignited with a buzz box and spark plug. I have about 85' of 1/4" stainless steel tubing inside the burner tube. The stainless tubing is bent into a plain coil. A triplex plunger pump feeds water into the tubing, going against the direction of the flame.

Jay Leno described his Doble steam generator as having enough power to heat a home, so I built my boiler with that in mind. The problem I've run into is that I'm developing an overwhelming amount of heat and steam (and VERY hot steam!); safety concerns have entered my mind.

What kinds of safety precautions do I need to be building into this? Check valves? release valves? General design safety in regards to plumbing the tubing?

I appreciate your input greatly, as does my wife.
Re: In a little over my head! Monotube boiler advice, please.
March 10, 2019 01:32PM
Hi, Follow the Doble boiler posts. It`s about monotube boilers.
Don
March 10, 2019 02:02PM
Thank you, I will read through them.
March 11, 2019 10:43AM