Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Messages

Advanced

Introduction, thinking about building a steam automobile

Posted by cogzoid 
Introduction, thinking about building a steam automobile
December 05, 2016 10:35AM
Hello

I'm new to steam power, and here to learn from you guys. I'm a hobbyist with a background in physics, and a little design and engineering. I enjoy metalwork and a little woodwork, but I have a lot to learn in both arenas. In the past I've converted a '64 Triumph Spitfire to be fully electric (it's still registered, but needs a little work to be road ready again). I've also built an 8 person pedal powered art piece. It's a little hard to describe but its essentially a street legal (considered a bike) dining table, complete with fine china, silver, and a chandelier overhead.

Anyway, I'm interested in one day building and driving a steam powered car of my own. I'm not sure if I take the route of converting a more traditional car to steam, or if I go the route of more fabrication and build a custom carriage. Or maybe I try and find a old car to restore. At the moment I'm doing some reading online, and doing a lot of absorbing and listening.

The tools that I have, or at least have access to: welders (oxy/acetylene, MIG, TIG), 13" Southbend Lathe, small CNC mill, and a 4 x 8 CNC router, as well as some more typical tools like drill presses, hand tools etc.

I think my first steam project might be a small reciprocating steam engine model. I'd love to build a little boiler as well. I might as well learn some of the basics hands on while things are small and cheap. In the meantime I'm going to continue lurking here and trying to absorb the jargon and lessons from you guys.
Re: Introduction, thinking about building a steam automobile
December 05, 2016 12:36PM