Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Messages

Advanced

Port sizes

Posted by addiator 
Port sizes
October 19, 2015 07:47AM
First let me introduce myself and my problem. I am a Mechanical Engineering student, who has endeavored to build a Uniflow engine as my final project. I am trying to look at the matter thermodynamically and scientifically in general, with the focus being using the engine for co -generation, however a lack of literature available is making it all a tad difficult (I do have Stumpfs book BTW).

One thing that I have been trying to figure out is how to determine the port area for the inlet. I actually decided to go with piston valves, as it is to be a small engine - but aerodynamically designed ones to prevent excessive loss. I imagine that I could figure out the engine speed from the ports - slow enough for the friction loss not to be excessive, with the losses being possible to be determined for any assumed port area by some basic equations of fluid dynamics. Yet I wonder what would be a better way to go about it.

Another thing I wonder, is how to determine how much steam will escape by the exhaust ports and at what speed. Now, if they were to be perfect, it is easy - enough for the pressure in the cylinder and condenser to equalize. But how do I find out if there is enough time for that to happen? And finally, how can one predict the shape of the 'dip' in the end of the indicatior diagram for when the ports are uncovered?

I know that there are some people here who dealt with similar issues, so I am looking forward to your input. I have actually been told that I am over-thinking this a bit.
Re: Port sizes
October 19, 2015 08:26AM
Doble used the formula Port area = Piston area times piston speed divided by 10,000

Herreshoff used on D valves engines the height of the port = the bore diameter divided by 10 And the width = diameter times .75 to .88