Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Recent Messages

Advanced

Barrett Steam Car

Posted by frustrated 
Barrett Steam Car
February 22, 2008 09:10AM
Hi folks:

I just heard from Tom Kimmel who asked me to post the information that the Barrett steam car is for sale.

Craeghton Nordahn <solarvolt@gmail.com> (818 518 3264) is the contact point for the executor of the Barrett estate, he should be able to provide information. The Barrett family has had an emotional time with Pete's passing and they would prefer working through intermediaries.

Regards,

Ken

Re: Barrett Steam Car
February 23, 2008 01:56PM
Hi,
I'm grateful to make your association; have a longstanding interest & enjoyed several Lindsay books over the years! industrial mechanic by trade.

Stumbled upon the Barrett steam car in storage, while picking up a used bandsaw out in Fontana, Calif.
Unfortunately Phillip has long disappeared & been presumed deceased, following Peter's journey to the happy engineering shop in the sky.
At any rate, the executor has asked me to help sell the car, after I'd helped them sell the mill & lathe.

I'm greatly relieved to know that full plans are available. At the time I made these photos, didn't know much- except that I'd found something extraordinary.

There are handwritten logs of the work done on, & believe they have other paperwork on it as well. It is currently on a trailer which is included. "Make best offer" basis. It would be good to get this to someone knowledgeable about it. I'd take it myself but not in a position to, at the moment.

I do not know it's current operational status. Tom & Dave have been kind enough to fill me in on the history. It should be understood to be more of a test-bed than a reliable vehicle. Both Perter & Phillip were accomplished engineers.
There's also a V frame prototype Tom or David wrote to me about, looking for that email- if I recall it was built by a gentleman from Tasmania(?) photos available.